lily

27 January, 2004

Yes, She Has a Brain, afterall!

You know what I hate most? People who think that just because you work as a cashier at a convenience store, that you couldn't possibly be smart too! Yeah, I fuckin' know that sometimes being a cashier is a no-brainer type of job; however, if this damn society had more respect for the ARTS, writers, poets, musicians, artists, etc. would not have to work pissant jobs just to get by.

I was having a conversation with a customer this morning and we were talking politics (which is a fave topic of mine) and he said something (for the life of me, I cannot remember what now) that I knew was 100% wrong and I corrected him. Then he said, "damn the girl has gone and gotten smart on us!" WTF??? As if I wasn't already smart; not my fault he doesn't know me enough to realize that!

So I mentioned to him that I had a Master's degree, which of course prompted the same fuckin' response as everyone else says: "then why are you working for Stop & Go?" Of course, I had to give him an earful about how fucked up our society was and how anti-art it has become. He just shrugged and walked away. Damn sheeple!

There is something seriously fucked up in this world when artists starve in order to do their craft and yet, sports stars make millions just to run up and down a field. In schools, the arts are cut before any other programs when there are budget problems. The same goes for the government. Any time they need to cut funding because of government overspending in other areas, they immediately cut the Endowment for the Arts.

We need an artistic movement in this country. Perhaps a new Renaissance is in order!



+ posted by lorianna66 at 7:04 a.m.

0 slipped off the lilypad



~ Did You Miss These? ~

The Fireman - 11 January, 2005
Way to go, Mel!! - 18 March, 2004
Yes, More thoughts on Same-Sex Marriages - 04 March, 2004
On the Bandwagon... - 03 March, 2004
Some Random Thoughts - 27 February, 2004


About:
Lorianna | 37 | Virginia | female
Navigation:
previous | next | archive
Links:
Rings |
Contact:
email | guestbook
Credits:
francey design | diaryland
Copyright Information:
all content copyright 2004 by lorianna66.

to learn more about protecting your online work, visit the following website:
creative commons
what is copyright?
lawgirl explains copyright
the us copyright office

I want to thank tequilla mockingbird for the copyright information. Please visit her site for more tips on stopping copyright infringement.


I Support Same-Sex Marriages