lily

30 January, 2004

Things That Piss Me Off and That Which Amaze Me

Pissy List

1) Cellphone Users

I was standing in line at a convenience store recently and the man in front of me was using his cellphone. The cashier had already asked the man once if she could help him, but he was apparently too wrapped up in the conversation about a Super Bowl Party with someone on the other end of the phone. She asked again, more patiently than I would have. Finally, without even looking at her, he said "gas on pump four" and continued his conversation. She rang up his gas, told him the price and waited. By this time, his conversation had turned quite boistrous, equipped with whoops and yelps. She told him again the amount of his transaction, shifting her weight from foot to foot and coughing, but remaining polite. The man shifted his phone from ear to ear, hand to hand as he looked for his wallet in his pockets and jacket, never missing a beat with his conversation. Finally locating his wallet, he pulled out the required amount, tossed it on the counter and walked away without so much as a "thank you" to the cashier.

When it was my turn in line, I commented to the cashier about how rude the man before me had been. She shrugged her shoulders and said she was used to that.

I too am a cashier, so I know her plight. Hundreds of people pass through my line every day. About a third of those people are cellphone users. And about half of that third are that rude to me. We as a society should not have to be used to rudeness. Eventually, someone somewhere is going to have to take a stand against cellphone users and their rude attitudes.

What is it going to take to let them know that their behavior is NOT acceptable? Is risking one's job in the current economic crisis we face in this country, to point out to these people that we will no longer tolerate this kind of behavior, worth it?

2) Non-smokers and "born-again" non-smokers

I used to be a non-smoker, many moons ago before smoking became a social occassion for me. All of my friends could be found with a cigarette in one hand and a bottle of bud in the other. I picked up the smoking habit from them, but not the drinking habit. Apparently, cigarettes were easier for me to become addicted to than beer.

My father is a smoker. I remember criticizing him for his smoking, something I regret today because my mother reminds me of it constantly.

And now, the shoe is on my foot: my husband criticizes my smoking. Yes, what goes around comes around.

So what is it with non-smokers? I am sure each non-smoker has their own vice that they wish they could change about themselves. I know a few who are heavy drinkers and others who pop pep-pills constantly. What makes their vices better than mine?

The worse of these non-smokers, however, are "born-again" non-smokers. These are people who have managed to kick the habit and make it their cause to reform the rest of the smokers in the world. They feel compelled to tell everyone how great they feel, how easy it was to quit, how nasty the habit was and is, etc.

I personally think they all should manage their own lungs and leave us smokers alone. Afterall, we smokers have tolerated a lot from these non-smokers. We have accepted not smoking in restaurants and public buildings. We have accepted their high taxes on our vice. And we stand outside in all weather to exercise our vice. What more do they want? If they really think the big tobacco lobbyists are going to allow them to completely end all tobacco products, well, I have a bridge in Brooklyn to sell to them!

This is Amazing!

I have this cat named Mystra who never ceases to amaze me. When her litter box is past-due on being cleaned, she tosses the scooper in it. No lie! She really does! An when her food bowl or water dish is too close to being empty, she moves it to the center of the walkway between the storage room and the kitchen. Sort of like a reminder to me: "Hey Mom, I Need Food and/or Water!" Yes, this cat truly amazes me with how smart she is.



+ posted by lorianna66 at 8:25 a.m.

3 slipped off the lilypad



~ Did You Miss These? ~

The Fireman - 11 January, 2005
Way to go, Mel!! - 18 March, 2004
Yes, More thoughts on Same-Sex Marriages - 04 March, 2004
On the Bandwagon... - 03 March, 2004
Some Random Thoughts - 27 February, 2004


About:
Lorianna | 37 | Virginia | female
Navigation:
previous | next | archive
Links:
Rings |
Contact:
email | guestbook
Credits:
francey design | diaryland
Copyright Information:
all content copyright 2004 by lorianna66.

to learn more about protecting your online work, visit the following website:
creative commons
what is copyright?
lawgirl explains copyright
the us copyright office

I want to thank tequilla mockingbird for the copyright information. Please visit her site for more tips on stopping copyright infringement.


I Support Same-Sex Marriages