lily

18 February, 2004

Poem: My Messiah

My Messiah

There he stands
my own Messiah
at the mic, telling people
about silence...

I often wonder how someone
with such calmness and soft-spokenness
can bellow out phrases
that shake me to my very foundation.

His raw, animalistic passion
for his art attracts me to him
his voice rising and falling
in some primal dance of a culture long ago.

His words take me on my own personal journey
back through the pathways I have taken
back to the days of Buddha, Gaia, Jospeh Smith's Jesus,
and my earliest childhood memories
of Mary Magdelene washing her Messiah's feet with her hair.

Like Mary, I stand in the awe-struck crowd
soaking in every dew-dripping word
of my Messiah and wait....
patiently....
silently.....

Why Such a Religiously Toned Poem?

Last night, I attended a poetry performance hosted by a good friend named John Perry. Anyone who knows John would have to agree with me, if ever a Jesus - the Messiah - walked this earth, John holds many of his qualities, from appearance to the calmness and powerful messages when speaking. I am not normally so religious, and neither are most of my poems, but just seeing John last night reminds me of the agony Mary Magdelene must have gone through, silently worshipping her Messiah from afar, knowing that it wasn't in the great cosmic plans for her to ever have him as her own.



+ posted by lorianna66 at 10:38 a.m.

0 slipped off the lilypad



~ Did You Miss These? ~

The Fireman - 11 January, 2005
Way to go, Mel!! - 18 March, 2004
Yes, More thoughts on Same-Sex Marriages - 04 March, 2004
On the Bandwagon... - 03 March, 2004
Some Random Thoughts - 27 February, 2004


About:
Lorianna | 37 | Virginia | female
Navigation:
previous | next | archive
Links:
Rings |
Contact:
email | guestbook
Credits:
francey design | diaryland
Copyright Information:
all content copyright 2004 by lorianna66.

to learn more about protecting your online work, visit the following website:
creative commons
what is copyright?
lawgirl explains copyright
the us copyright office

I want to thank tequilla mockingbird for the copyright information. Please visit her site for more tips on stopping copyright infringement.


I Support Same-Sex Marriages