lily

25 January, 2004

Snowfall

So it is snowing outside...big fluffy, dry flakes...

I remember as a child that I couldn't wait for it to snow. I would go outside in the winter and watch the weather indicator on the back porch that gave all the signs: temperature, humidity level, barometric pressure, etc. We learned in school how to detect all the right signs for the perfect conditions for snow. I remember correctly predicting many a snowfalls that would mean schools would close the next day and we could stay home to play outside. Snow was a happy occassion then.

Today, it is less of a happy occassion and more of a burden: the shoveling, clearing off of the car, and trying to get out to the main roads without slipping and sliding all over the damn place.

In my youth, it was nothing for me to go outside and sled or roll down a hill. It was nothing for me to put on an extra pair of socks and slide on the ice either. The older I get, the more I worry about slipping on ice and falling. I have a real fear of that now.

It sucks to have to grow up and put childhood things aside. To be mature and act like an adult. To be responsible and reliable.

Life would be so much more enjoyable if I could just sit here, in my home, and watch the silent snow falling...

+ posted by lorianna66 at 5:15 p.m.

0 slipped off the lilypad



~ Did You Miss These? ~

The Fireman - 11 January, 2005
Way to go, Mel!! - 18 March, 2004
Yes, More thoughts on Same-Sex Marriages - 04 March, 2004
On the Bandwagon... - 03 March, 2004
Some Random Thoughts - 27 February, 2004


About:
Lorianna | 37 | Virginia | female
Navigation:
previous | next | archive
Links:
Rings |
Contact:
email | guestbook
Credits:
francey design | diaryland
Copyright Information:
all content copyright 2004 by lorianna66.

to learn more about protecting your online work, visit the following website:
creative commons
what is copyright?
lawgirl explains copyright
the us copyright office

I want to thank tequilla mockingbird for the copyright information. Please visit her site for more tips on stopping copyright infringement.


I Support Same-Sex Marriages